Finding My Way Into 2014

Standard

100_2001

“The beautiful journey of today can only begin when we learn to let go of yesterday.” ~ Steve Maraboli

Today, I attended a workshop called Revolutionary Resolutions.  I’m not too big on resolutions or the idea that we need to use the beginning of the year to create change in our lives.  I believe any day can be our “new year” and really every day needs to be that to be a conscious, authentic and evolving human being.

I understand the importance of goals and goal setting in terms of achievement and success.  This year for some reason, I was inundated with folks offering their new program to help me meet my goals in 2014.  It felt like anyone and everyone had spent most of 2013 planning for this rollout and quite honestly it felt pushy, plastic and inauthentic.  I found myself more than ever wanting to avoid the mass movement toward “resolutions”.

You may wonder, then, why had I signed up for this workshop?  Overall, it was kind of a feeling thing.  But, I do like to gather with others to explore and I was hoping I get some different insight into how to begin this New Year.  For some odd reason, I was feeling a bit like doing nothing for most of the holiday season.  I am usually quite proactive and so was just observing this in myself throughout December and into the New Year.

I was happy when I arrived at this workshop and found that there would be a burning bowl ceremony.  I find Fire Ceremony to be a powerful way to honor our transitions.  There was a focus on identifying what we needed to let go before we began to explore what we would bring in for 2014.  One of the things that had happened during my time of “non-doing” was that I got clearer on some of the feelings, patterns and beliefs I need to let go of and work to transform.  So, when the time came to write down what you would let go on little slips of paper, I was ready to release!

Later on in the workshop, the facilitator mentioned that she wasn’t starting her new program until February.  I thought that was interesting.  While I was “doing nothing” and thinking about all of what I “should be doing” to prepare and put things out for the new year, I found myself feeling very strongly to not start anything in January but wait until at least February or early March to begin my new groups and offerings, too.

The subject of the Chinese New Year came up and we discussed that this is the last month of that cycle.  This year is the year of the Snake according to the Chinese cycles and the energy of the snake is all about letting go, releasing and as they do “shedding” their skin.  The facilitator mentioned that this was a factor in her postponing her beginnings and as she shared that, I realized this is exactly what I was feeling.  Now is not a time to be birthing new things, it is still a time to be clearing and letting go.  It is also a time for spiritual discoveries, creativity and a desire for inner truth, what better energy to support a foundation for new beginnings!

I have been very focused on clearing my space – outwardly in my home and my office, inwardly in feelings, patterns and beliefs, which are no longer serving me.  Over the last week or two, I kept butting up against the massive movement to be rolling the new out, to be done with letting go and clearing, but I just wasn’t feeling it.  I considered that it is still the height of winter, a more inner time, but hadn’t consciously considered the energy of the Snake.  This potent energy has brought a lot of turbulence to this past year, which many folks have been experiencing emotionally and energetically.  It feels so important to take this last month and really allow what needs to be released to go.

According to the Chinese calendar, the coming year will be the year of the Horse; this begins on January 31st, 2014.  The Horse brings an energy for movement and power.  This year will carry the element of Wood as well, which is all about growth and new beginnings.  It feels like there is an intensity to this shift and taking time to be present with ourselves is key.  Clearing and releasing creates the space for more of ourselves and our deeper intentions to become manifest.  This is more important than any resolution or goal – this is life!  What greater resolution is there than to create space to allow our essence to emerge and our light to shine out into the world.

It is possible that I am feeling this all the more because I was born in the year of the Horse; I’m not totally sure.  What I do know is that it is important to listen to our own inner rhythms, to connect with natural cycles and to find ways to harmonize our being inside and out.   A big part of this comes from just being willing to be still and listen to our own inner voices.

I hope you’ll take some time this week and over the next few to listen your inner voice and to explore what you are ready to release and let go of.  Perhaps you have already set your goals for the New Year or maybe you are like me and still considering them; either way, take some to ask what you are holding onto that may keep you from achieving your goals and what can you do to let that go?

As always, please feel free to stop by to share your experiences, thoughts and reflections.

Namaste.

The Heart Of Awakening is an online resource for transformation and healing written by Beth Terrence.  Beth offers Integrative Transformational Healing Tools For Individuals, Groups & Organizations.  To learn more, visit www.bethterrence.com.

About Beth Terrence

Beth Terrence is a Shaman, Facilitator, Holistic Practitioner, Speaker and Writer. With over seventeen years of experience in field of transformation and holistic health, she is a leader in providing Integrative Transformational Healing Programs For Individuals, Groups & Organization. The focus of Beth's work is to facilitate deep transformational healing, assisting her clients in living a more heart-centered, balanced and joyful life through discovering the healer within. Beth offers online transformational resources through her blog, The Heart of Awakening: Searching for a New Paradigm. She is also an author and facilitator for Heal My Voice, an international organization that helps women to heal, grow and step into greater leadership through writing and sharing their stories. To learn more about sessions, programs, teleseminars and other news, visit http://www.bethterrence.com.

4 responses »

  1. A wonderful blog. My last blog was along the same lines. I called the new year’s changes Solstice Suggestions, as opposed to “resolutions.” Resolutions are stiff and binding; a “suggestion” leaves room for sliding backwards, expanding sideways, or jumping ahead, if your inner muse tells you. Most resolutions are unyielding — give yourself breathing room. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Claudia. Thanks for your note. I love the idea of “Solstice Suggestions”. I agree there is such a different energetic in that versus resolution. Thanks for sharing your exploration and please come back to visit. Love & light, Beth.

Leave a Reply

