Poem Of The Week: Sunflowers By Vince Coates

Standard
Original Artwork by Vince Coates

Original Artwork by Vince Coates

Sunflowers

Sunflowers are not just the flowers that
grow so tall and turn so vibrantly yellow 
each Summer.

This is what many think.

Yes, this is what they see.

I see these also, just now I also
see them in a different way..

As I grow , I see special
people in my life also as Sunflowers.

My Special Sunflower People.

The people who radiate smiles, that
radiate warmth and affection in all
weather, all times of the year and even
at night when even the real Sun is sleeping.

My special sunflower friends and loved
ones, so bright so cheerful no matter
what colors they are wearing. Some
just don’t want to be accused of wearing 
the same color each day.

I still let them know, to me, they are my
favorite, most beautiful sunflowers and then 
their most vibrant yellow color appears again and 
they stand so tall in the Sun and also back in my life 
again.

Long ago, Van Gogh, painted , “Sunflowers”.

Today, it is me, thinking of what these beautiful
flowers and lovely people mean to me.

Sunflowers

**********************************************************************

I am excited to be sharing this poem by my friend, artist and writer Vince Coates.  Vince lives in Frederick, MD.  He is what I would call a prolific artist and an all around inspiring being.  I always find insight and inspiration from experiencing his paintings, sculptures and poetry.  He was kind enough to tag me as a “Sunflower” on Facebook when he shared this poem and I love how it speaks to the beauty of relationship and how much sunshine they bring to our lives.  Also, I am just a huge fan of sunflowers themselves and of course, Van Gogh, so this poem spoke to me on many levels.  I hope you enjoy it, too.  You can learn more about Vince and see a gallery of his artwork by visiting his website, www.vincecoates.com.

About Beth Terrence

Beth Terrence is a Shaman, Facilitator, Holistic Practitioner, Speaker and Writer. With over seventeen years of experience in field of transformation and holistic health, she is a leader in providing Integrative Transformational Healing Programs For Individuals, Groups & Organization. The focus of Beth's work is to facilitate deep transformational healing, assisting her clients in living a more heart-centered, balanced and joyful life through discovering the healer within. Beth offers online transformational resources through her blog, The Heart of Awakening: Searching for a New Paradigm. She is also an author and facilitator for Heal My Voice, an international organization that helps women to heal, grow and step into greater leadership through writing and sharing their stories. To learn more about sessions, programs, teleseminars and other news, visit http://www.bethterrence.com.

6 responses »

  1. Beth, I just love that image, I was thinking about exactly something like that as I worked with my inner wisdom on a yet to be published post about my work with flower remedies, this post has made my day, wow very big thank you for sharing, best wishes, Barry

    • How cool, Barry. I love when things like that pop up. Looking forward to reading your post on flower remedies. I am just working on my Bach Flower Of The Month post as well. Love & light, Beth

  2. Pingback: Top 13 Posts Of 2013 On The Heart Of Awakening Blog | The Heart of Awakening

Leave a Reply

