Know Yourself: The Foundation For Change

Standard

images-6

You cannot transcend what you do not know.  To go beyond yourself, you must know yourself.

~ Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj

I am excited to be starting a new 31 Day Blog Challenge.  Every year when I do May Is For Metta, I feel like this is an opening to write more and daily.  Then, June comes and find I just don’t make it back to the page as much as I intend to.  Having a motivator, a challenge or a deadline that is accountable to others is something I find I need.  I am not sure why this is the case. I’d love to just say I am going to write everyday and do it, just because I want to.  It’s curious and something I am exploring in myself.

So, here I am in July, feeling the call to join a 31 Day Blog Challenge.  I guess another aspect of this is that writing or the process of writing itself tends to be a very solitary process.  So joining in a collective group of writers and bloggers who are journeying together during this time really helps to create a container for that energy and offers a drive to be more proactive.  I am looking forward to exploring the variety of bloggers and blogs that have signed on for Lesa Townsend’s 31 Day Blog Challenge.  I hope you’ll join me in this exploration here on The Heart Of Awakening Blog and check out some of the other blogs as well.

One of the things I have been working on this year is creating a program that is at this point called, 30 Days To Change.  This program has stemmed from some of the workshops, articles and individual sessions I have done over recent years.  What I have found is that 30 or 31 Days is a great container to initiate a foundation for change.  I have seen research on varying amounts of time but this is a framework that I have found works well with the processes I have developed around holistic self-care, mastering anxiety, transforming your inner critic, and discovering the healer within.

It just occurred to me recently that this process can be applied to any area of focus or type of change –  30 Days is a good way to begin to cultivate healing and transformation in a powerful way and can offer a foundation for how to work in an ongoing way.  I like that this time frame can involve both a daily process and also be segmented into 4 weekly segments.  I plan to spend some time over the summer developing this as its own model for change to be applied to whatever area one might like to focus on.   So, stay tuned for more of that exploration to emerging here.

For today, I’d like to share a step that I find is a key component in creating any type of change:

8712696-know-yourself--word-in-vintage-wooden-lettepress-printing-blocks-isolated-on-white

Know Yourself.  We live in such a busy and chaotic world.  Our lives are full of distractions and disruptions both inwardly and outwardly.  How can we create change in our lives if we don’t know who we are and we aren’t truly conscious of what we are experiencing.  How can we know what changes would best support us or how we want to be in the world without that self-knowing?

There are many ways to get to know oneself on a deeper level.  Developing a contemplative practice such as meditation, yoga, tai chi, or prayer can be a good starting point.   Just spending some time in stillness, whether indoors or out in nature, just being and listening  and allowing our inner voice to be heard is a great step, too.  Writing or journaling can be a powerful way to deepen in self-reflection and self-awareness.

Take the time and space to explore some tools and practices that can support you in getting to know yourself more fully and deeply; this is probably the greatest thing you can do for yourself.  Take some time to consider areas of your life where you feel out of balance.  Are there certain changes you are feeling to make?  Is there something that is going on in your life that is causing you considerable distress?  Are you willing to take some time to just be with that and explore what might be beneficial for you in terms of change?

So, whether you have a specific change in mind or just feel to explore a bit, I hope you will join me this month in my exploration.  It won’t be totally linear, but I will be sharing bits and pieces of my developing program.  Is there a practice or tool you feel to bring in that can support you in getting to know yourself?  Or, perhaps you feel to explore some new practices to see how they might support you.

As always,  I would love to hear how others have worked with creating change, particularly if there is a certain time frame you have found beneficial or certain practices that support getting to know yourself.

About Beth Terrence

Beth Terrence is a Shaman, Facilitator, Holistic Practitioner, Speaker and Writer. With over seventeen years of experience in field of transformation and holistic health, she is a leader in providing Integrative Transformational Healing Programs For Individuals, Groups & Organization. The focus of Beth's work is to facilitate deep transformational healing, assisting her clients in living a more heart-centered, balanced and joyful life through discovering the healer within. Beth offers online transformational resources through her blog, The Heart of Awakening: Searching for a New Paradigm. She is also an author and facilitator for Heal My Voice, an international organization that helps women to heal, grow and step into greater leadership through writing and sharing their stories. To learn more about sessions, programs, teleseminars and other news, visit http://www.bethterrence.com.

9 responses »

  1. I wish you the best of luck in your Challenge, and in settling into the change that you’re striving for.

    I’m actually familiar with the idea that it takes 30 days to break a habit. I grew up religious, and my faith stressed physical purity– namely, abstaining from drugs, caffeine, tobacco and alcohol. For the sake of those who were struggling to break with those substances, we had a lot of lessons on breaking bad habits and making good habits, and 30 days was the magic number we always came back to.

    I look forward to seeing more of your posts!

  2. Wow, Beth, your work is so inspirational. Transformation, in particular, is an area of such personal growth. The soul’s yearning for healing through transformation is a beautiful and majestic experience. The awareness and mindfulness you touch on in this post is the perfect place for change to begin. I wonder what we’ll have in store for us?
    Thank you for the reminder, and for engaging this challenge so openly. I really look forward to reading more insights from your work…

  3. I think 30 days is about right. I find that I’m usually good through 3 weeks or so and then I drop off. If I can push through that fourth week and make it into a fourth or fifth week, then I’m well on my way to making a change. I’m not sure what it is about after that third week that is make or break for me, but it’s there.

    Good luck to you this month!

    • Thanks for your note. I agree about the extra week, have heard 21 days, but really feel the extra time helps to solidify changes. Looking forward to journeying with you. Many blessings.

  4. Hi Beth, I’m in the Challenge also. Looking forward to the month. I so enjoyed your images! Gorgeous! I’m familiar with the idea of 30 days to create newness. I’ve facilitated a teleclass using the 30 Day Mental Diet by Willis Kinnear. LOVE the book! I look forward to seeing more posts during the Challenge! enjoy! Sharon

    • Hi Sharon. Thanks for your note and sharing. Will have to check out that book. Looking forward to exploring together during the challenge and will stop by to visit your blog today.

Leave a Reply

