Living the Big Picture in Daily Life

Standard

Being human in 2012 feels like the foundation has shifted in many ways, sometimes it feels like there is no foundation at all.  Some theories are the poles have shifted, the ley lines have changed, it’s the end of the Mayan calendar, old systems are falling, new ones are emerging and the list goes on.  Clearly, there are many things impacting life on earth at this time.   What I have experienced on a personal level is that things that felt in alignment and that I had been working towards for some time, suddenly feel out of alignment.  At other times, I know I would be more able to tune in and gain clarity, but given the current energetic intensities, I have found it more difficult than in the past.  I know I am not alone in this experience

Recently, I have been working with Life Coach Susan Bishop of the Unlocked Box, to reexamine my work and what direction I feel to move with it.   A major focus of our explorations is the big picture – finding the umbrella of vision that all I do will fall under.  For me, this is not so easy to do.  Even having been born an Aquarian, the details of life can easily overshadow the big picture for me.  This current exploration reminds me of how challenging it can be to live the big picture – to be a spiritual being having a human experience.  The day to day, the pull of the “real” world can be so strong and yet, what is so real about it?   Knowing there are deeper truths and believing this physical world is a mirror for something so much bigger, vaster and more powerful is still not always enough to hold that universal truth when faced with demands of daily life.  And yet, when I do, on those days when I can remember more fully the truth of who I am, life is so much lighter, so much happier and offers me a path to deeper awakening.

During the time I have been working on starting this blog, I picked up a book by Elizabeth Mattis-Namgyel, The Power of an Open Question.  In it she speaks of the Zen tradition of having a personal koan.  A koan is a paradoxical story, dialogue or question that is used as a starting point for meditative inquiry.  This got me thinking about writing a koan for this blog and for my exploration:

How do we hold the big picture in daily life?  How do we live as spiritual beings in a human body? How do we find our authenticity in the world and stay awake to the truth of who we are?  How do we live and breathe universal truth?   How do we embody the big picture in all of our experiences in the world?

In my own journey, some of the tools I use to help in staying in the big picture and holding universal truth in daily life include:

Meditation and Prayer

Spending time in Nature

Grounding and Energy Practices

Shamanic Journeywork

Connecting with Like-Minded Others

Creative Expression

Practicing the Pause

Starting my day with some type of meditation, prayer and intention has been a part of my life for a long time.  At this time, it feels even more vital to staying awake and conscious throughout each day.  And even then, as each challenge arises, I must remember.  That guy in his SUV cuts me off in DC beltway traffic or there’s a long line at the store when I am already late to a meeting; these are all times I can forget the truth of who I am and the big picture.  Carrying a meditative or spiritual practice with me throughout the day is one way to continue my sitting meditation in daily life.  I am also hoping this blog will be a part of carrying the big picture into daily life and I hope you will join me on this journey.  I’d love to hear your thoughts and ways that you practice living the big picture in daily life.

About Beth Terrence

Beth Terrence is a Shaman, Facilitator, Holistic Practitioner, Speaker and Writer. With over seventeen years of experience in field of transformation and holistic health, she is a leader in providing Integrative Transformational Healing Programs For Individuals, Groups & Organization. The focus of Beth's work is to facilitate deep transformational healing, assisting her clients in living a more heart-centered, balanced and joyful life through discovering the healer within. Beth offers online transformational resources through her blog, The Heart of Awakening: Searching for a New Paradigm. She is also an author and facilitator for Heal My Voice, an international organization that helps women to heal, grow and step into greater leadership through writing and sharing their stories. To learn more about sessions, programs, teleseminars and other news, visit http://www.bethterrence.com.

2 responses »

  1. Hello Kindred Sister – Thanks for adding your expression to the divine conversation. The more folks explore the questions posed in your meditative inquiry, the more WILL awaken and become an active soulful agent of the transformation. I am so grateful to have spiritual community and a host of practices that remind me of the big picture. I call upon mediation, chanting, sacred dance, prayer, sacred geometry, energy practices, writing practice, journaling, communing with Nature and my dog, and of course the dear ones and friends. Looking forward to your ongoing expression.

    • Marcia, thank you so much for sharing your journey and for joining in the beginning of this one. One of the things I am hoping for here is to create connection, community and to explore our common threads, which is emerging so beautifully already.

Leave a Reply

